Beauty Friday: Have you eaten your Sunblock today?

Oh, Science, you are so fine. How far have you gone in the search for the best sunblock?

IMG_20180207_200633.jpg

I know I’ve tried all sorts of sun protection, because I’m living in the tropics. But little did I know that the most effective way is to take it as an oral supplement. And you know what, it totally works!

IMG_20180207_200652.jpg

So let me tell you about Heliocare, this bottle of sunblock capsules that I have here. I’m on my second bottle, which I guess goes to show that I really find it effective. I was already taking it every day before I went for a beach trip to Bohol last year. I take 1 capsule in the morning, and 1 capsule in the evening. So aside from the topical sunblock creams, I also had extra sun protection via these capsules.

Here’s what their claim says: “The key ingredient, Fernblock® has excellent antioxidant property that is able to reduce free radicals by up to 50%, preventing the formation of hyperpigmentation caused by UV rays. It protects the entire skin surface, increasing the skin’s resistance against sunburn and redness by up to 300%. The protection from Fernblock® also slows down skin aging by up to 55% through the inhibition of collagen depletion caused by UVA.”

20170519_142041
mild tanning in Bohol

While I did tan during that trip, it wasn’t as crazy and dark like how I usually get. I also didn’t feel any sting or sun burn. By the end of the trip, I only had a mild rosy tan on my face. Another observation is that typically, my skin goes back to its original color in about two weeks. But when I began taking this regularly at that time, I noticed that my tan faded easily and faster and by the end of the week, I’m back to my original skin tone. On my succeeding trips to Taiwan and Gigantes Island, I already finished up my first bottle, so I was back to just topical creams. I immediately noticed the difference because I turned so dark during those trips (gah!).

IMG_20180207_201150.jpg

Now I know we all have different skin reactions to products, so the effect may be different for each one of us. However, taking this oral sunblock proved to be an added or extra sun protection. Though you still need to apply your usual sunblocks, this helps in targeting areas that you may not reach and to have sun protection that goes deeper into the skin.

Where to buy Heliocare? I’ve shared the link earlier where you can buy online, but you may ask your local dermatologist about it. They have different versions available, depending on the dosage. There’s the orange bottle (the one shown in the link) , this PureWhite Radiance that I have in maximum strength 240, and another PureWhite Radiance in low dosage that I’ve seen being sold in Lazada PH. Prices range from about Php 2,800 to Php5,600 per bottle. Okay, I know it’s a little expensive, but let’s face it, skin care is really expensive overall, but we all need them in our life. It’s always better to protect or prevent than to cure.

I get my supply from my sister, so if you want to order, hit me up via email or through the comments section below.

So, have you eaten your sunblock today?

Happy Beauty Friday!

Blog signature

2 thoughts on “Beauty Friday: Have you eaten your Sunblock today?

Leave a comment